Syllabus

Title
6047 Microeconometrics (Applied Track)
Instructors
Assist.Prof. Mag.Mag. Florian Szücs, Ph.D.
Contact details
  • Type
    PI
  • Weekly hours
    2
  • Language of instruction
    Englisch
Registration
02/07/19 to 02/17/19
Registration via LPIS
Notes to the course
Subject(s) Master Programs
Dates
Day Date Time Room
Thursday 03/07/19 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM TC.3.09
Thursday 03/14/19 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM D3.0.225
Thursday 03/21/19 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM TC.3.09
Thursday 03/28/19 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM TC.3.09
Thursday 04/04/19 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM TC.3.09
Thursday 04/11/19 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM TC.3.09
Thursday 05/02/19 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM TC.3.09
Thursday 05/09/19 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM TC.3.09
Thursday 05/23/19 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM TC.3.09
Thursday 06/06/19 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM TC.3.09
Thursday 06/13/19 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM TC.3.09
Thursday 06/27/19 02:00 PM - 04:00 PM TC.3.09

Contents

-) Causality & Correlation, Treatment Effects & Selection

-) Difference-in-Difference Estimation

-) Matching and Selection on Observables

-) Synthetic Control Groups

-) Placebo, Sensitivity & Robustness

-) Regression Discontinuity Design

Learning outcomes

After taking this class, students will be familiar with the most important microeconometric evaluation techniques employed in the academic literature, with a particular focus on recent developments. Students will be able to understand current research papers employing these methods and critically assess their merits in different scenarios of evaluation.

Attendance requirements

Classroom presence is mandatory. Up to three absences will be tolerated.

Teaching/learning method(s)

The class is structured in lecture units and presentation units. In the lecture units, the lecturer will present the different microeconometric evaluation techniques, that are the content of the course. In the presentation units, the students will (in small groups) present recent academic papers, that employ these methods and critically discuss their findings.

Assessment

Classroom Presentation: 35%

Referee Report: 25%

Exam 1: 20%

Exam 2: 20%

Last edited: 2019-01-09



Back