Syllabus

Title
1840 Macroeconomic Models and Methods (Applied Track)
Instructors
Assoz.Prof PD Dr. Katrin Rabitsch-Schilcher
Contact details
  • Type
    PI
  • Weekly hours
    2
  • Language of instruction
    Englisch
Registration
11/20/19 to 11/29/19
Registration via LPIS
Notes to the course
Subject(s) Master Programs
Dates
Day Date Time Room
Monday 12/02/19 04:30 PM - 06:30 PM D4.0.144
Friday 12/06/19 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM D4.0.144
Monday 12/09/19 04:30 PM - 06:30 PM D4.0.144
Friday 12/13/19 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM D4.0.144
Monday 12/16/19 04:30 PM - 06:30 PM D4.0.144
Friday 12/20/19 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM D4.0.144
Friday 01/10/20 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM D4.0.022
Monday 01/13/20 04:30 PM - 06:30 PM D4.0.144
Friday 01/17/20 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM D4.0.144
Monday 01/20/20 04:30 PM - 06:30 PM D4.0.144
Friday 01/24/20 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM D4.0.144

Contents

The course offers an introduction into dynamic macroeconomics. Topics covered include the empirical measurement and characterization of business cycles, and an introduction into dynamic macro modelling (Real Business Cycle and New Keynesian models). A particular focus will lie on deriving and understanding the parallels with undergraduate macroeconomic models and on understanding the effects of macroeconomic policy.

Learning outcomes

Upon completion of this course students have a basic understanding of macroeconomic analysis in a dynamic setting.

Attendance requirements

Attendance is compulsory. A maximum of 4 course hours (1 day of lectures) are allowed to be missed.

Teaching/learning method(s)

The course is mainly lecture-based. Homework assignment and exercises (in groups) will be used to deepen the understanding of the materials discussed.

Assessment

Grading is based on:

a final exam (50%)

homeworks (40%)

active class participation and mini-quizzes (10%)

Availability of lecturer(s)

no regular office hours, please make an appointment

email: katrin.rabitsch@wu.ac.at

Last edited: 2019-12-13



Back