Syllabus

Title
1544 Data-oriented Systems Analysis
Instructors
Univ.Prof. Dr. Axel Polleres
Contact details
  • Type
    PI
  • Weekly hours
    2
  • Language of instruction
    Englisch
Registration
09/30/14 to 11/28/14
Registration via LPIS
Notes to the course
Subject(s) Bachelor Programs
Dates
Day Date Time Room
Wednesday 12/10/14 02:00 PM - 04:30 PM D2.0.031 Workstation-Raum
Monday 12/15/14 02:00 PM - 04:30 PM D2.0.031 Workstation-Raum
Wednesday 12/17/14 02:00 PM - 04:30 PM D2.0.031 Workstation-Raum
Monday 12/22/14 02:00 PM - 04:30 PM D2.0.031 Workstation-Raum
Wednesday 01/07/15 02:00 PM - 04:30 PM D2.0.031 Workstation-Raum
Monday 01/12/15 02:00 PM - 04:30 PM D2.0.031 Workstation-Raum
Wednesday 01/14/15 02:00 PM - 04:30 PM D2.0.031 Workstation-Raum
Wednesday 01/14/15 02:30 PM - 04:30 PM TC.3.09
Monday 01/19/15 02:00 PM - 04:30 PM D2.0.031 Workstation-Raum
Wednesday 01/21/15 02:00 PM - 04:30 PM D2.0.031 Workstation-Raum
Monday 01/26/15 02:00 PM - 04:30 PM D2.0.031 Workstation-Raum

Contents

Relational database systems, modeling, integrating external Data sources using different data formats (including graph-data or semantic Web data)

Data Analytics with SQL sowie scripting languages, and statistics software, design of a simple database application.


Learning outcomes

Understanding of concepts of data-oriented system analysis and modeling; the ability to practically solve tasks such as creating an application to dynamically integrate and extract data in a databases as well as performing simple visual and statistical analytics tasks

Teaching/learning method(s)

Presentation of a final project as well as continuous assessment of small homework tasks and repititions of lesson content in front of your colleagues.

Assessment

committment in class

homeworks submitted via learn@WU

presentation of final project (a small database application from a domain of your choice)

Last edited: 2014-07-01



Back