Syllabus

Title
4274 Academic Writing
Instructors
Ass.Prof. Dr. Martin Herles, B.A.
Contact details
  • Type
    FS
  • Weekly hours
    2
  • Language of instruction
    Englisch
Registration
02/19/19 to 02/24/19
Registration via LPIS
Notes to the course
Subject(s) Doctoral/PhD Programs
Dates
Day Date Time Room
Wednesday 02/27/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 03/06/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 03/13/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 03/20/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 03/27/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 04/03/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 04/10/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 05/08/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 05/15/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 05/22/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 05/29/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 06/05/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 06/12/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 06/19/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02
Wednesday 06/26/19 04:00 PM - 05:30 PM TC.4.02

Contents

  • Language features in English academic writing
  • The structural features of English research papers
  • Adapting one's writing to "journalese"
  • General English features of relevance
  • Exercises and discussions during sessions
  • Workshop (discussing papers and abstracts provided by the participants)

Learning outcomes

ACHTUNG: DIESE LEHRVERANSTALTUNG WIRD ZUM GROSSTEIL IN ENGLISCHER SPRACHE ABGEHALTEN UND BESCHÄFTIGT SICH SCHWERPUNTKMÄSSIG MIT 'ACADEMIC WRITING IN ENGLISH'. GRUNDZUEGE DES WISSENSCHAFTLICHEN SCHREIBENS IN DEUTSCHER SPRACHE WERDEN ABER EBENFALLS VERMITTELT.

  • To help students acquire the writing skills required for drafting doctoral dissertations and academic papers in English
  • To sensitize students to contrastive differences between German and English
  • To assist students in adapting their writing to internationally accepted standards necessary for publishing papers in high-level academic journals

Attendance requirements

Attendance compulsory, more than two absences (for valid reasons) to be cleared with instructor

Teaching/learning method(s)

Lecture format including interactive discussions, exercises and homework, extensive discussions of pertinent points, practical workshop at the end of the class

Assessment

  • Active participation in class (exercises and discussions) (30%)
  • Home assignments (10%)
  • Two written abstracts of doctoral dissertation (draft and revised) (10%)
  • Final test (50%)

Prerequisites for participation and waiting lists

Registration required via the WWW during the period of registration.

Readings

1 Author: Herles, M.
Title:

Material to be distributed in class at cost price.


Year: 2018

Availability of lecturer(s)

For office hours please refer to the homepage of the Institute for English Business Communication: https://www.wu.ac.at/en/ebc/contact/

 

Last edited: 2018-10-25



Back