Syllabus

Title
1258 Social Ecological Economics II
Instructors
Dr. Corinna Dengler, Dr. Franz Stephan Lutter, Colleen Schneider, MSc (WU), Sarah Ware, MSc (WU)
Contact details
  • Type
    PI
  • Weekly hours
    4
  • Language of instruction
    Englisch
Registration
09/13/21 to 09/30/21
Registration via LPIS
Notes to the course
Subject(s) Master Programs
Dates
Day Date Time Room
Thursday 10/07/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Wednesday 10/13/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Thursday 10/14/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Wednesday 10/20/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Thursday 10/21/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Wednesday 10/27/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Thursday 10/28/21 09:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Wednesday 11/03/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Thursday 11/04/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.09
Wednesday 11/10/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Thursday 11/11/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Wednesday 11/17/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM Online-Einheit
Thursday 11/18/21 09:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Wednesday 11/24/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM Online-Einheit
Thursday 11/25/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM Online-Einheit
Wednesday 12/01/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM Online-Einheit
Thursday 12/02/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM Online-Einheit
Thursday 12/09/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM Online-Einheit
Wednesday 12/15/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM Online-Einheit
Thursday 12/16/21 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM Online-Einheit
Wednesday 01/12/22 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Thursday 01/13/22 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Wednesday 01/19/22 11:00 AM - 01:00 PM TC.3.12
Thursday 01/27/22 09:00 AM - 01:00 PM D2.0.030

Contents

Building upon the concepts and theories explored in the first module, this course will deepen some of the main research directions of Social Ecological Economics, spanning a broad research field. This includes an analysis of the biophysical dimension of the economy, focusing on social metabolism and input-output analysis; biodiversity and climate change phenomena and governance; environmental challenges related to the urban context and urban planning and development; social movements, collective action and political parties focusing on socio-environmental concerns; and the analysis of policy proposals for a social-ecological transformation, from regionalisation to alternative currency schemes and sustainable businesses.

Learning outcomes

  • To cover core research foci, topic areas and debates in the Social Ecological Economics field.
  • To critically reflect on theories and issues, engage in debates and discussions in class, and to learn how to develop a collective research project 
  • Apply theories, methods, and concepts of Social Ecological Economics in research and case studies.

Attendance requirements

Attendance is required for a minimum of 80% of the classes, i.e. students are allowed to miss max. 4 classes.

Teaching/learning method(s)

Formats

  • During class there will be applied exercises and data analysis, reading-discussions, interactive exercises, focused discussions of case-studies and student-presentations.
  • The sessions will build on the readings – so reading them before each session is obligatory.

Assessment

Presentation of collective research project: 10% (due 27th January 2022)

Collective research project: 30% (due 15th February 2022)

Block specific evaluation (each block 15%)

  • Block 1: Individual take-home research task
  • Block 2: Case study presentation
  • Block 3: Group case study presentations and one page writing assignment
  • Block 4: Group presentations
Last edited: 2021-12-01



Back