Syllabus

Title
1401 Socioeconomics Research Seminar (Forschungsseminar Sozioökonomie)
Instructors
Univ.Prof. Dr. Thomas Plümper
Contact details
  • Type
    FS
  • Weekly hours
    2
  • Language of instruction
    Englisch
Registration
09/06/21 to 09/27/21
Registration via LPIS
Notes to the course
Subject(s) Doctoral/PhD Programs
Dates
Day Date Time Room
Tuesday 10/19/21 05:00 PM - 07:00 PM D4.3.106
Tuesday 11/02/21 06:00 PM - 08:00 PM D4.3.106
Tuesday 11/09/21 05:00 PM - 07:00 PM D4.3.106
Tuesday 11/16/21 06:00 PM - 08:00 PM D4.3.106
Tuesday 11/23/21 05:00 PM - 07:00 PM D4.3.106
Tuesday 11/30/21 05:00 PM - 07:00 PM D4.3.106
Tuesday 12/07/21 05:00 PM - 07:00 PM D4.3.106
Tuesday 12/14/21 05:00 PM - 07:00 PM D4.3.106
Tuesday 12/21/21 05:00 PM - 07:00 PM D4.3.106
Tuesday 01/11/22 05:00 PM - 07:00 PM D4.3.106
Tuesday 01/18/22 05:00 PM - 07:00 PM D4.3.106
Tuesday 01/25/22 05:00 PM - 07:00 PM D4.3.106

Contents

The course provides an overview of contemporary cutting-edge socioeconomic research. The Department of Socioeconomics invites leading scholars in all areas of the social sciences to discuss their current research. Each session introduces a different perspective on socioeconomic research.Accordingly, participants gain immediate and unfiltered insights into current socioeconomic research. 

Learning outcomes

Participants will gain in overview of contemporary socioeconomic research.

Attendance requirements

Attendance in this course is compulsory in line with standard rules for absence.

Teaching/learning method(s)

The course is based on presentation of invited speakers and offers room for discussion. It is particularly suited for Ph.D. students that are interested in the bigger picture of contemporary social issues. Participants will indirectly learn how to present their own research results and they will gain an improved understanding of their own scientific contributions.

Assessment

Homework lecture 20%
Homework exercise 40%
Essay 40%

Recommended previous knowledge and skills

No specific skills required.

Unit details

Unit Date Contents
1
Last edited: 2021-09-21



Back