Syllabus

Title
1925 PhD Research Seminar in Micro- and Macroeconomics
Instructors
Univ.Prof. Dr. Klaus Gugler, Univ.Prof. Dr. Klaus Prettner
Contact details
  • Type
    FS
  • Weekly hours
    2
  • Language of instruction
    Englisch
Registration
09/15/21 to 09/27/21
Registration via LPIS
Notes to the course
Subject(s) Doctoral/PhD Programs
Dates
Day Date Time Room
Friday 10/15/21 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM D4.0.047
Friday 10/22/21 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM D4.0.047
Friday 10/29/21 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM D4.0.047
Friday 11/05/21 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM D4.0.047
Friday 11/12/21 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM D4.0.047
Friday 11/26/21 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM Online-Einheit
Friday 12/03/21 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM Online-Einheit
Friday 12/10/21 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM Online-Einheit
Friday 12/17/21 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM Online-Einheit
Friday 01/14/22 10:00 AM - 02:00 PM D4.0.047
Friday 01/21/22 11:00 AM - 04:00 PM D4.0.047
Friday 01/28/22 11:00 AM - 12:30 PM D4.0.047

Contents

This course serves as a forum to present and discuss ideas and results of the research projects carried out in the context of the PhD thesis. Students present their Research Proposals as well as their (in total) three PhD papers in early form. Students are encouraged to present early work and to participate in constructive discussions of the presentations of their colleagues.

Learning outcomes

Improvement in the structure and design of research questions and methods employed by students in their PhD theses. Critical reflection of the methodological approach employed in the research pieces that compose the PhD thesis.

Attendance requirements

Attendance is compulsory. (80%)

Teaching/learning method(s)

Presentations and discussions.

Assessment

Attendance (10%), presentation of own research (60%), discussion of research of colleagues (30%).

Recommended previous knowledge and skills

Students that join the course should have conducted at least some explorative research on the topic(s) of their thesis.

Availability of lecturer(s)

Last edited: 2021-06-22



Back