MyLEARN Starting Page
Your MyLEARN starting page is the central hub for accessing courses and other features.
What do I see on my MyLEARN starting page?
Die MyLEARN Startseite gliedert sich in zwei Bereiche:
Your MyLEARN starting page is divided into two sections:
- In the main section, you can see your portlets. They contain current information from your courses and other communities of which you are a member.
- By default, your calendar is shown on the right side. It contains all your course dates, which are entered into the calendar automatically.
- In the “Memberships” portlet, you can see links to all your courses from the current semester. You might have to open up the menu to view the names of your courses.
- By clicking on the link “My archived courses and communities,” you can access your archived courses from previous semesters.
Left-hand side menu:
- Here you can click on “Home” to access links to your personal calendar and your personal file storage.
- Under “My Applications,” you can find a link to the bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral theses submitted by your students.
- Under “Control Panel,” you can manage your personal information and settings:
- “Account”: Here you can see your account data. You can also add information about yourself and upload a photo.
- “Customize Layout”: Here you can define the layout of your personal starting page, for example by deciding which portlets (forums, assignments, etc.) will be displayed on your page and in which order.
- “Language”: Here you can change the language and time zone. Currently, the whole platform is available in German and English. Please note: The whole platform is available in English, but not necessarily the contents of all courses. There is also another way to change the language settings: In MyLEARN, click on the drop-down menu in the upper right corner and then on “Language.”
- “Manage notifications”: Here you can find an overview of all the email notifications that you have activated for applications on MyLEARN. You can delete notifications or change their frequency on this page.
- Under “My Quicklinks,” you can find links to WU web pages relevant for students and teachers, training courses for WU teaching staff, the MyLEARN Guide, LEARN support services, the LPIS system, student course evaluation results, the Rooms system, exam review, and the Teaching & Learning Academy.
How can I customize my MyLEARN starting page?
You can customize your MyLEARN starting page by using portlets. Portlets include current information from your courses and other communities of which you are a member.
In the “Customize Layout” section, you can define the structure of your MyLEARN starting page, for example by deciding which portlets (forums, assignments, calendar, etc.) will be displayed on the page and in which order.
- On the MyLEARN starting page, in the left-hand menu, click on “Customize Layout” "Costumize Layout " (Screenshot).
- Click on the arrows to move the portlet to the desired position.
- Click on the icon to remove the portlet.
- Rename sub-headlines such as “My Calendar,” “My Files,” or “My Space” by entering the new names and then clicking on the button “Rename Page”.
- Move portlets to “My Calendar,” “My Files,” or “My Space” by making a selection from the drop-down list below each portlet and then click on the button “Move to page”.
- Under the headline “Create a new page,” you can set up new pages. Enter the name of the new page and click on the button “Add Page.” The new page will be displayed under the menu item “Home.” You can then go on to add new portlets to the pages you’ve created.
You can customize the portlets at any time. They help you organize current information from all your memberships so you can see all the relevant information at a glance. Portlets that aren’t used can be reactivated at any time, of course.
Where can I find my courses?
All your courses at WU will be added to MyLEARN automatically. In the “Memberships” portlet, you can see the links to all of your courses, course repositories, academic units (only visible to WU employees), clubs, and training courses.
- Log in to MyLEARN, using your WU account data.
- In the portlet “Memberships,” click on to view a complete list of all your memberships.
Instructors are automatically granted admin rights for their courses, and they can upload and edit course materials.
Students who have successfully signed up for a course via the LPIS system are automatically added to MyLEARN as members (role: student) and have read-only access to course material.
How can I sign up for course repositories?
A course repository is a collection of all information and course materials that are provided for parallel courses or courses that cover the same topics. Generally, course repositories, especially those intended for the introductory and orientation phase, are freely available to all students. They allow students to have a look at the course materials before the beginning of the semester and to prepare for exams.
- Log in to MyLEARN using your WU account data.
- In the portlet “Memberships,” click on the menu item “Course repositories” to open the drop-down list and choose the desired course repository.
Please note: Students do not see course repositories in their membership list, unless the student in question is listed as a participant or administrator in the course repository.
How can I add myself as a member to courses on MyLEARN?
Some courses are open courses. Students can register themselves as members of these courses to gain access to the course materials.
- On your personal MyLEARN starting page, click on “Manage Memberships” for an overview of all the communities of which you are a member.
- Under “Courses,” click on “Add more memberships” to add additional memberships.
- Click on the icon next to a course to add yourself as a member.
By manually adding a course to their memberships, students are only registered as participants of this course. This means that they can use the course materials available on MyLEARN, but they don’t have a place in the auditorium. To obtain a full place in a course or to sign up for an exam, students have to register via the LPIS system.
If course membership requires prior approval, the instructor must approve a student’s membership first. Students will be informed about this via email.
Students can remove a course from their membership list by clicking on the icon “Remove membership” in the overview of memberships. Only memberships that activated via MyLEARN can be terminated. This means that students who have signed up for a course via the LPIS system can’t terminate their course membership on MyLEARN.
I signed up for a course via the LPIS system, but I don’t see my course on MyLEARN.
As soon as you’ve successfully signed up for a course in the LPIS system, your course should be displayed in the membership list on MyLEARN no later than the following day. Since data are synchronized between LPIS and MyLEARN overnight, it may take until the next day for the course to be displayed on MyLEARN.
If you signed up for a course as part of a track (Schiene), it will only become visible on MyLEARN once it is assigned to a course instructor. This can take several weeks. You can find the current date of the allocation of teaching rooms in the WU schedule on the WU website. Until then, you can use the menu item “Course repositories” to access course materials.
I suddenly don’t see one of my courses anymore. What happened?
Your course may have expired and it may have been moved to the archive. After the end of the semester, the courses of this particular semester are no longer displayed in the membership list on MyLEARN. Expired courses can be accessed via the link “My archived courses and communities.”
- On your personal starting page on MyLEARN, click on the link “My archived courses and communities” for an overview of all your archived courses.
- Click on to view a complete list of all your archived courses.
Course instructors and administrators can still access archived courses and manage them. As course participants with read-only rights, students can access course materials and the homework they handed in. Entries (e.g. in the forum or the file storage application) can no longer be edited or created.